If the COVID-19 national emergency has impacted your ability to pay your mortgage, homeowners with FHA, USDA, VA, or Section 184 or 184A mortgages (for members of federally-recognized tribes) and those with mortgages backed by Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac have the right to request forbearance on their payments for up to 6 months, with a possible extension for another 6 months without fees, penalties, or extra interest. You should contact your mortgage servicing company directly.
Find out more at the Federal Housing Finance Agency here.
Rent and Mortgage Relief
Virginia’s Rent and Mortgage Relief Program, funded by the CARES Act, is now available to help those facing eviction or foreclosure because of COVID-19.
To check your eligibility and find a local organization distributing funding, call 2-1-1 or visit the Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development website here.
There is a federal eviction moratorium in place through December 31, 2020. Renters whose landlord is not abiding by the moratorium should contact the relevant federal agency that administers your housing program or Virginia Legal Aid here.
Energy Assistance for Low Income Families
The CARES Act includes $900 million to help low income Americans and their families heat and cool their homes. To learn more about the Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) in Virginia, click here.