Committees and Caucuses

Committee on Financial Services

The Financial Services Committee oversees all components of the nation’s housing and financial services sectors including banking, insurance, real estate, public and assisted housing, and securities. The Committee continually reviews the laws and programs relating to the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, the Federal Reserve Bank, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac and international development and finance agencies such as the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund. The Committee also ensures enforcement of housing and consumer protection laws such as the U.S. Housing Act, the Truth In Lending Act, the Housing and Community Development Act, the Fair Credit Reporting Act, the Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act, the Community Reinvestment Act and financial privacy laws. Rep. Wexton serves on the Subcommittee on Consumer Protection and Financial Institutions and the Subcommittee on National Security, International Development and Monetary Policy.


Committee on Space, Science and Technology

The Committee on Space, Science and Technology has jurisdiction over non-military federal science research and development programs, including oversight of NASA, the National Science Foundation, the National Institute of Standards and Technology and the Office of Science and Technology Policy. The Committee also has authority over research and development activities at the Department of Energy, Environmental Protection Agency, Department of Transportation, Federal Aviation Administration, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, National Weather Service and the Department of Homeland Security. Originally created in response to the Soviet Sputnik program in the 1950s, the Committee has evolved beyond exclusively the subject of space exploration and now oversees all matters related to research and development and scientific innovation. Rep. Wexton serves on the Subcommittee on Space and Aeronautics and the Subcommittee on Oversight.